Banana Berry Chocolate Smoothie

edit2

Being new to this whole “you-can’t-eat-gluten-ever-again” thing, I sometimes find myself so frustrated that I just don’t want to make anything. Whenever that happens, (which is embarrassingly frequent depending on the week) I always make a smoothie. I add kefir and 2% milk for protein and calcium and then I throw in all the frozen fruit I can find in the freezer.

I like to freeze the bananas my mom and I forget about (nobody else in the house likes bananas for some reason!) as they start to become brown so I’ll always have a few on hand to put in the blender. And I don’t mean spotty – I mean dark scary brown like maybe you shouldn’t be eating that banana! But really, they’re fine. And they actually make for perfect smoothie additions because if you let them sit on the counter for a few minutes, they’re much easier to deal with than bananas that had thicker skins before they got tossed in the freezer.

_DRM9795

As for frozen fruit, I just buy whatevers on sale! Usually that means mango or a good berry blend. I don’t usually use pineapple in my smoothies because I don’t like how stringy the pieces become once they’re blended into oblivion. Same with blueberries… I’m weird about their skins being in my drank, but it’s really up to you! I’ve found frozen fruit is better not only texture and thickness, but frozen fruit is generally healthier because it is flash frozen on site (usually where it’s picked) meaning the antioxidants and other good shtuff is all preserved – unlike a lot of out-of-season fruits you may find at your grocery store.

And chocolate! Mmmm, who doesn’t want chocolate in their smoothie? Nobody, that’s who. I used to use Ovaltine malted chocolate powder, but I apparently can’t eat malt now (dangit! It’s one of those weird things I’ll genuinely miss that you wouldn’t even think about… I loved malted milkshakes). Chocolate syrup is usually fine (read the labels!) but in this instance I had fresh chocolate milk from a farm about 20 minutes from my house YUM. Enjoy your smoothies, y’all!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. of chocolate milk
  • 1/2 c. kefir (I used strawberry honey flavored kefir)
  • 3/4 c. almond milk (or regular milk, whatever is on hand!)
  • 1 c. frozen fruit
  • 2 medium frozen bananas, sliced and diced

Makes 2 snack-size smoothies (around 12 oz. each)

Directions:

1. I like to start with the milks, bananas, and kefir just to be sure the banana is blended really well.

2. Add frozen fruit, puree until smooth and pour into glasses. If you have fancy straws – even better!

edit1

Leave a Reply

