Lemon Curd on Everything!

Image

I don’t know about you, but I could eat lemon curd on just about anything – and that includes those weirdly textured store-bought loaves of gluten-free bread. In fact, that’s part of the reason I decided to make some curd – so I would have something absolutely delicious to put on some mediocre pieces of g-free toast. (That was a lot of complaining for two sentences, but don’t worry, I’m working on some gluten-free bread recipes to solve aaaall my problems!)

The other reason for mixing up a batch of this gold magic is that I happened to have 6 egg yolks lying around thanks to a meringue recipe I was trying out and something my mom was making for dinner. And everyone knows the best thing to do with extra egg yolks is make lemon curd!

ImageLemon curd (or any citrus curd, really) is fairly easy to make as long as you don’t leave it to burn or something else silly like that. I pretty much used this recipe here but I used an entire stick of butter, because that’s what another site suggested and I thought – yup, that sounds good! It also occurred to me as I just reread that recipe that I didn’t follow their directions at all – or anyone else’s for that matter. I’ve been doing it an easier way for years and guess what? It turns out so velvety and scrumptious you could eat it right off the spoon…. And I always do.

Ingredients:

  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 1 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/3Β  c. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. – 2 tbsp. lemon zest (whatever floats your boat zest-wise goes here. I used 2 tbsp. because that’s how much I like lemons)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, cut into cubes

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, whisk together the sugar, lemon juice, and egg yolks. Stir continuously on medium heat until the mixture sticks to the back of a wooden spoon. Be careful not to burn or boil!
  2. Remove saucepan from heat and slowly add one piece of butter at a time, stirring until melted before adding another chunk. (I just cut the stick into about 10 pieces)
  3. When all the butter has been added, stir in the lemon zest.
  4. To prevent lumpiness (bleh) I pour mine straight into a pint mason jar and refrigerate.
  5. Allow to cool in fridge for at least 30 minutes, then… enjoy it on anything and everything you can find!

Image

One thought on “Lemon Curd on Everything!

  1. Pingback: Lemon Poppyseed Bread with Lemon Curd | Defloured Baker

Leave a Reply

