Honey Lemon Lavender Cupcakes

There are very few flavor combinations I enjoy baking with more than lemon and lavender. It just makes me feel so posh and British sometimes and with all the uncharacteristic snow North Carolina has been getting lately, the citrus notes are just what I need to perk me back up. Not that I don’t looove snow days, but you have to admit, once it starts to melt it’s just yuck.

Image

Honey I could really take or leave, and tend to leave it. In the past honey has made me feel pretty ill (which is weird because I’m the type of person one would assume an abundance of sweetness would never bother) but in small doses, or paired with the perfect ingredients, I can make an exception. And boy am I glad I did with these puppies! This recipe from “Gimme Some Oven” is absolutely delicious. I substituted the 1.5 cups of flour for my gluten-free all purpose blend (it’s magical…. stick around for that post in the coming week!) and to add in the lavender I put the 3/4 cups of granulated sugar in my food processor with 1 teaspoon of dried lavender buds, stemmed. I like to wing it with flavored buttercreams when it come to frosting my cupcakes, but if you like the cream cheese honey combo in the original recipe, knock yourselves out! I’ll include my lemon/honey buttercream recipe too πŸ™‚

Hope these gluten-free goodies help drive away your February blues as well!!

Image

Ingredients:

Honey Lemon Lavender Cupcakes

  • 1/2 c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp. dried, stemmed lavender buds
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. lemon zest

Honey Lemon Buttercream Frosting

  • 1 stick butter at room temperature
  • 1 – 2 c. confectioners sugar (as needed)
  • honey, to taste (I don’t use that much, probably a teaspoon or 2)
  • pinch of lemon zest if there is some over from cupcakes
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line baking cups with paper liners. (I made 12 large and about 6 minis!)

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together gluten-free flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk honey, milk, vanilla, lemon juice, and lemon zest together in a smaller bowl.

3. In a food processor, combine sugar and lavender, pulsing 4 – 5 times until lavender buds start to break down a little .

4. Beat butter and lavender sugar on medium speed for until a fluffy, homogenous mixture form. Add eggs one at a time; beating each in until just combined.

5. Add half of the flour mixture to the butter mixture, beating until just combined. Blend in entire honey/milk mixture and combine. Add remaining flour mixture and beat on low until just incorporated.

6. Fill baking cups evenly, almost 3/4 full and bake for 15-20 minutes; rotating halfway through for most even bake. *When baking with gluten free mixtures, I find the bake time can vary extraordinarily from original recipe, so be sure to check your goodies a few times throughout he baking process. For this recipe I think they fell safely within the 15-20 minutes with the toothpick coming out clean.*

Allow to cool, and frost!

Directions (for buttercream):

1. Beat together all ingredients and add powdered sugar, lemon, and honey to taste. If you don’t want an overwhelming flavor but you need more moisture, mix in milk a teaspoon at a time – a lot goes a long way in buttercreams.

2. Frost those suckers and enjoy!

Makes 12-15, or 12 regular and 6-8 mini cupcakes. Keep in air tight container for up to five days. Gluten-free goodies are best eaten ASAP however, and in our house that’s never a problem!Image

Leave a Reply

