Girls Just Wanna Have Snacks!

Image

When it comes to eating gluten-free, I often find the hardest part isn’t actually the meals themselves (we eat a lot of rice and potato based foods at my house, so I don’t miss pasta. Other than toasted bagels for breakfast not much has changed) but the snacks (and don’t even get me started on eating out…). I like to snack a LOT and in some ways it’s a good thing I don’t have a ton of options available to me at all times. But when I want a snack… sometimes I just don’t want fruit. I want pita chips and hummus, I want cheese and crackers, I want cheez-its, I want pretzels and peanut butter… you get the picture.

I could just eat chips and granola bars (Kind bars, to be specific. Gotta be careful with your granola bar gluten!) indefinitely, but that doesn’t appeal to me. I have a sweet tooth and to kill two birds with one stone – my need for a snack and maybe some chocolate too – I like to whip up muddy buddies, or puppy chow, whatever you would like to call them.

These are such a good snack because sometimes I get sick of eating my gluten-free Chex cereal as is for breakfast and this recipe uses it all up! I like to use different flavor Chex, like chocolate or vanilla, to shake things up but any flavor is fine. For this recipe I used honey and while it worked (and was delicious!) the shiny honey coating on the cereal doesn’t make for easy mixins.

I also like to use Nutella AND peanut butter so I get that chocolate-y taste in there as well. Yummmmy. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 4 c. Chex cereal (make sure it’s gluten free! Wheat Chex can trick ya)
  • 1/2 c. chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/4 c. Nutella
  • 1/4 c. peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • roughly 1 c. powdered sugar

Directions:

1. Measure cereal and place in large bowl which you will be mixing everything in later.

2. In a medium saucepan, melt together the chocolate chips, butter, nutella, and peanut butter until smooth. Once removed from the heat, add vanilla extract.

3. Pour chocolate mixture over cereal and start mixing! This part was trickier for me than I anticipated, so having a big wooden or bamboo spoon on hand to help stir helps a lot and avoids burnt hands.

4. Next, pour powdered sugar over the cereal and keep mixing everything until it looks fairly homogenous. Don’t forget to be gentle so you’re not crushing all the cereal too!

5. Refrigerate for at least an hour before moving into an airtight container. This mix is enough to last me for a week… But if my whole family knew where I hid it, it would be gone in 24 hours!

6. Enjoy! Muddy buddies are a simple fix for all your gluten-free snacking needs and keep me happy when I get an urge for chocolate. And feel free to experiment with flavors! I want to try to make some salted caramel chocolate batches and maybe even orange, rum, and dark chocolate. Who knows, my Chex could have a fabulously fancy future ahead….

Image

One thought on “Girls Just Wanna Have Snacks!

  1. Pingback: Nutella Muddy Buddies | Animeagain.com

Leave a Reply

