Lemon Poppyseed Bread with Lemon Curd

Image

So, I made this lemon curd one time and it totally rocked. It was good straight from the jar, on some scones I made, and even on store bought glutey free bread (blegh – not my favorite). Then it got shoved to the back of the fridge and I forgot about the laaaast lonely 1/2 cup remaining in the jar until it was no longer at its most fresh (though still totally edible and awesome, as ever). When I unearthed it I wanted to make some lemon poppyseed bread to put it on and then, as luck would have it, I found this one recipe that swirled the lemon curd into the bread before it was baked. And it was heavenly. And moist. And didn’t taste gluten-free at all…. And if you know me you’ll know that is my goal in life – to fool my own taste buds into happiness!

Image

This is a short post because I followed this recipe to the letter, only substituting the flour for an AP GFree flour (my mixture includes xanthan gum – so if yours doesn’t add 1 1/2 – 2 teaspoons to your dry ingredients just to be safe!). Also, I made a half batch which is how I like to experiment with new recipes – because we all know how tricksy gluten-free baking can be! But take it from me, this recipe is good enough to make the whole durn batch and get scarfed up by your family within the week.

Enjoy!!!

Image

Leave a Reply

