Peanut Butter & Cinnamon Cookies

peanut butter & cinnamon cookies

Everyone – and I mean everyone – loves a good peanut butter cookie (unless you’re allergic…. to which all I can say is, I understand and I’m deeply sorry…. but you can use another nut butter or sunbutter if you so choose!!). This recipe came from the book Lick the Bowl Good: Classic Home-Style Desserts with a TwistΒ by Monica Holland and like all the cookbooks I take for a test drive, this one came from my local library. Seriously, your public library is the best resource for all you aspiring chefs and bakers. I love having hard copies of books on hand when I’m baking because there is nothing worse than trying to scroll down on my computer screen and getting butter/sugar/egg yolks all over my laptops mouse pad. There’s probably an entire recipes worth of ingredients under the keyboard of my computer by now and having book save me such a hassle. (Obviously I could also clean my hands before touching my laptop but…. I’m a messy baker and sometimes I need to run and make sure I didn’t just dump in the wrong amount of ingredient.

Anyway! That was my brief rant/rave of libraries and the downfalls of using electronic devices while you bake but I got away from the main topic here which is peanut butter. I’m a big fan. When I came across this recipe that includes cinnamon though I was perplexed. It sounds like a fantastic combination but I’d never put the two together, and certainly not in cookie form. But my friends as it turns out it is a FABULOUS combination and well worth it. I replaced the AP flour in the recipe with my own gluten-free flour blend and voila! Perfectly soft, cinnamon-sugary peanut butter cookies came out of my oven smelling incredible. My family loved these and I sent some with my older brother on a trip to visit his friends in our nation’s capital and they loved them. When I baked some chewy lime sugar cookies (recipe to come shortly!) the other week my brother came home and was like, “What?!? No more peanut butter cinnamon cookies?!” And those chewy lime suga’s are nothing to turn your nose up either, let me tell you.

Okay I’m sure you’re totally sold by now on this cookie combo (right?!) so without further ado let me share the recipe!

peanut butter & cinnamon cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. AP GFree flour blend
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. (one stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 c. of peanut butter (I use creamy Peter Pan brand… natural and crunchy options just don’t work as well baking)
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla

For rolling:

  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper (my new favorite obsession. Spraying or greasing pans works well too, but parchment paper is just so easy to use and clean up)
  2. Sift together gluten-free flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. (*Side note: I always sift my dry ingredients together. It’s especially important I think when working with gluten-free flour blends of your own making just to be 100% sure all the components have mixed together properly. It also creates a lighter, fluffier texture in your baked goods that makes hauling out my specially designated “GF sifter” worth it.)
  3. In a stand mixer (or by hand, whatever floats your boat) cream the sugar, butter and peanut butter together until fluffy and well-blended. Add the egg and vanilla.
  4. Slowly mix in the flour blend and BECAUSE AMERICA’S TEST KITCHEN’S NEW GFREE COOKBOOK TOLD ME TO DO THIS WITH PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES I put my dough in the fridge for 20ish minutes or so because it supposedly helps the peanut butter and gfree starches/grains in your flour get together. All I know, these cookies were a perfect texture so this step just might be worth it.
  5. In rounded teaspoons, drop the dough into the cinnamon sugar mixture and roll until completely covered. Place two inches apart and bake for 9 – 10 minutes until bottoms look golden brown and cookies are still soft to the touch.
  6. Let cool for five minutes on the pan, remove to cool and eat as many as you possibly can before everyone else in your family devours them!

peanut butter & cinnamon cookies

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter & Cinnamon Cookies

Leave a Reply

