Another Chocolate Chip & Potato Chip Cookie

Image

I’ve found in the past few months that after the initial shock of my celiac diagnosis and the subsequent hatred I felt towards all foods subsided I was left craving anything and everything I couldn’t eat. But mostly, I craved salt. Before I started eating gluten free, I ate fairly healthy foods and wouldn’t have dreamed of munching away on potato chips all day every day…. yet somehow in the past 6 months or so these deliciously oily, cheesy, herbed, barbequed slices of potato have become my favorite form of sustenance. For the most part, they are safe. I can eat them without worrying about gluten or contamination and just fill my little gluten starved belly up to the brim with starch and salt – problem solved. I’ve become so obsessed, in fact, that I’ve even started baking them into my desserts. (*Just for the record, I am cutting back now that fresh strawberries right up the road are available for my snacking needs. Yay fresh fruit!)

That’s right, I’ve made another weird potato cookie! (But, all things considered if you’re baking gluten free this probably doesn’t come close to some of the weird things you’ve baked with, right?) I tried out this recipe a few weeks ago and liked it just fine but I couldn’t figure out why the cookies were so flat. The flavor was spectacular but I believe after very little research and no investigation whatsoever that it is due to the excess oil in the potato chips that came out during baking. So, what did I do? I chose a slightly different cookie recipe, used my same old trusty flour blend and *SPOILER ALERT* I put the dough in the fridge to harden up in hopes it wouldn’t get as oily during baking.

This was both a good and bad idea, because while I definitely wouldn’t classify the chips in this newfangled cookie as “soggy” (these cookies are in fact very good) they had undoubtedly lost their crispy, salty edge that they maintained unrefrigerated in the first cookie! My hypothesis? Next time I think if I use the first cookie recipe – simply because its committed to my memory at this point – the NON-ruffled potato chips and refrigerate the dough for a mere 15 minutes. Voila. Two great cookie recipes converge to form a masterful sweet and salty and gluten-free (hell yeah!) snack.

YAY COOKIES! YAY CHIPS!

potatochip2Ingredients: (adapted from Martha Stewart. Yield: 3 dozen cookies)

  • 2 1/4 c. gluten-free flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 c. softened butter, unsalted
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 c. packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 c. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 c. crushed potato chips, like Lays Classic

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk together flour and baking soda and set aside. Cream butter and both sugars in stand mixer until pale and fluffy. Reduce speed to low and add salt, vanilla and eggs; mixing until well blended.
  3. Mix in flour then stir in chocolate chips and potato chips. Refrigerate dough for 15 – 20 minutes.
  4. Drop tablespoons onto baking sheets 2 inches apart and bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool before transferring to wire racks.

Leave a Reply

