Peanut Butter & Banana Cupcakes

banana cupcakes

This wayward traveler finally made it home! And while I am slowly plotting my return to the beautiful Spain, I have a little free time to bake again. One thing I found myself missing a lot of in Spain were sweet breads – zucchini, banana, pumpkin, chocolate chip, etc. so I decided I would make myself a nice batch of banana cupcakes with peanut butter frosting (because if bread is good, cupcakes are better). I was helped along in this tedious decision-making process when I saw 2 over-ripe bananas sitting on the counter and remembered a recipe I had tried years ago that was simply divine and from Glamour magazine of all place! (While I love Glamour and other fashion rags it must be said this is no Bon Appetit, amiright?)

I would also like to take this opportunity to get back to my blogging ways and slowly incorporate more posts from my time abroad this spring. I’m afraid I trickled out a bit there at the end of the fall due to trips, school, and trying to cram 36 hours into every 24 I had in Barcelona. So every once in a while there be a post about traveling gluten-free now, but rest assured I am most definitely writing it in my pajamas from the US. Sigh.

banana cupcakes

Anyway! That’s enough chit chat, who’s ready for a recipe? Just for the record, these are called “Propose to Him Banana Cupcakes” which is pretty dumb in my opinion but then I tasted them and was like…. Yeah, I’d marry me with cupcakes like this. As far as adaptation for a gluten-free recipe, I used the original recipe only substituting AP flour for glutey-free flour blend (in this case I tested out Pillsbury’s new gf blend and was pleasantly surprised! Give it a whirl if you see it in your supermarket.)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 c. flour (gluten-free or otherwise)
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. buttermilk
  • 1 1/4 c. ripe mashed bananas

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line tins with paper liners.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until smooth.
  4. Combine all dry ingredients and mix in 3 parts; alternate with buttermilk. Fold in bananas gently.
  5. Fill tins 2/3 full and bake for 25 minutes.
  6. Let cool in tins before frosting, then hide from family.

Buttercream: Mix 2 c. powdered sugar, 1 stick softened butter, 1 cup peanut butter, 3 Tbsp. milk and 1 tsp. vanilla. Blend ingredients with hand mixer until consistency desired.

banana cupcakes

One thought on “Peanut Butter & Banana Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

